Carnegie Mellon University

Commencement Awards

The ECE Department recognizes extraordinary student performance during its annual Diploma Ceremony. Listed below are the recipients of these prestigious awards.

David Tuma Undergraduate Project Award

Recognizing the undergraduate ECE student(s) who created the most outstanding laboratory project during the academic year.

2022: Sophia Lau, Rachel Tang, and Stephanie Zhang
2021: Harper Weigle
2020: Bolaji Bankole, Cindy Deng, and Deepak Pallerla
2019: Chelsea Chen, Sandra Sajeev, and Tian Zhao
2018: Homer Baker, Samuel Westenberg, and Ben Yates
2017: Abhinand Sukumar
2016: Kais Kudrolli, Sohil Shah, and Dongjoon Park
2013: Tyler Huberty, Greg Nazario, and Isaac Simha
2012: Kwabena Agyeman

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Recognizing an ECE graduate teaching assistant who has demonstrated extraordinary performance in our teaching program in the summer, fall, or spring terms.

2022: Ethan Rich
2021: Isabel Basow
2020: Arpit Gupta and Harlin Lee
2019: Vincent Monardo 
2018: Vishwanath Saragadam and Milda Zizyte
2017: Neil Ryan
2016: Doru Popovici
2015: Alexey Tumanov
2014: William Melicher
2013: Paul Kennedy
2012: Sergio Pequito

Outstanding Woman In Engineering Award

Recognizing an ECE undergraduate or graduate woman who serves as a role model for women in the ECE community and has left a significant impact on her fellow students in the field of electrical and computer engineering.

2022: Cynthia Fu
2021: Harlin Lee
2020: Irene Lin
2019: Maya Lassiter
2018: Biqi Zhao

Graduating senior awards

ECE offers several commencement awards for graduating seniors related to scholastic achievement, research achievement, leadership, and service to the community.

E.M. Williams Award

In recognition of a graduating senior who demonstrates superior scholastic achievement.

Everard (Rod) Williams was the head of the ECE Department for 17 years, from 1952 to 1969. He was a prolific and innovative engineer and a pioneer in the use of computers in education. He was also a dynamic leader and a generous person who spent his spare time reclaiming and renovating derelict housing for the poor and homeless in Pittsburgh.  

2022: Charlie Li and Yuxin Guo
2021: Ramgopal Venkateswaran
2020: Scott Mionis
2019: Nathan Levin
2018: Junsu Jang
2017: Chi Chen
2016: Rudina Morina
2015: Thomas Mullins
2014: Paraj Tye
2013: Brian Osbun
2012: Wei Shi

Frank J. Marshall Scholar Award

In recognition of a graduating senior who demonstrates outstanding scholastic and research achievement.

Frank Marshall obtained his bachelor’s from the then-EE department in 1969. Since then, he has held many different positions at a variety of companies including Vice President of Engineering at Cisco Systems. More recently, Mr. Marshall was a founding investor, board member, and Chairman of the board of Directors for Netscreen Technologies, Inc., which was purchased by Juniper Networks.  Currently, he is a private investor and consultant to several high technology companies and is a member of the College of Engineering Silicon Valley Advisory Council.

2019: Brian Davis
2018: Yongyi Zhao
2017: Wanqiao Ding
2016: Sean Bittner
2015: Ana Beisy Cruz
2014: Dale McConachie
2013: Tyler Huberty
2012: Benjamin Cowley

Frank J. Marshall Outstanding Undergraduate Award

In recognition of a graduating senior who has demonstrated a balance of academics, leadership, and service to the community.

2019: Kashish Garg
2018: Reid Long
2017: Ana Paola Aguilar
2016: Brandon Perez
2015: Jaime Kang
2014: Niharika Singh
2013: Neil Abcouwer
2012: Neereja Sundaresan

Julia Randall Weertman Award

In recognition of a graduating undergraduate or graduate ECE student, regardless of gender, who serves as a role model to women in the ECE community and has left a significant impact on fellow students in ECE.

2022: Albany Bloor
2021: Derya Tansel

Doctoral Student Commencement Awards

The two Doctoral Student Commencement Awards are for doctoral students who graduate in the summer, fall, or spring and defend by April.

A.G. Milnes Award

Awarded to a graduating ECE PhD student for PhD thesis work judged to be of the highest quality and which has had, or is likely to have, significant impact in their field.

Dr. Arthur Milnes was the Buhl Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He began his career as an undergraduate in London during the blitz in World War II and his career in our department in 1957 at a time when what was then called the EE Department helped us earn an international reputation in solid-state research. During his tenure at Carnegie Mellon, Professor Milnes and his students produced hundreds of papers. He also authored several books and a groundbreaking paper that was included in Citation Classics as one of the most cited items in its field. Professor Milnes received numerous awards, including the Ebers Award from the Electron Devices Society and the Van der Ziel Award for outstanding, sustained semiconductor device research.

2022: Aymeric Fromherz
2021: Sanghamitra Dutta and Susnata Mondal
2020: Satwik Kottur
2019: Joao Semedo
2018: Alexei Colin
2017: Ahmed Hussein
2016: Abhishek Sharma and Shupeng Sun
2015: Matthew Golub
2014: Dragana Bajovic and Dusan Jakovetic
2013: Wangyang Zhang
2012: Jason (Wing Chiu) Tam

A.G. Jordan Award

Awarded to a graduating ECE PhD student who has combined outstanding PhD thesis work with exceptional service to the ECE or CMU communities.

A 1959 alumnus of Carnegie Institute of Technology, Angel Jordan has made Carnegie Mellon his life's work.  His pioneering research and technical leadership helped create one of the first university research laboratories in semiconductor devices. As an administrator, he was one of the leaders who transformed Carnegie Mellon from a local university into a prominent world-class educational and research institution.  He championed the formation of the Robotics Institute and was instrumental in attracting the Software Engineering Institute to campus.    Angel Jordan served as head of the EE Department for a decade, beginning in 1969; as dean of the College of Engineering from 1979 to 1983; and as University Provost from 1983 to 1991. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1986. 

2022: Diana Zhang
2021: Qicheng Huang
2020: Vishwa Saragadam
2019: Anit Sahu
2018: Chandrasekhar Bhagavatula
2017: Subhro Das

2016: Ashwati Krishnan
2014: Kristen Dorsey and Joel Harley
2012: Paul Bogdan