Carnegie Mellon University

Academic Advisors

All ECE students are advised by both faculty and staff academic advisors who can provide support and guide them through their Carnegie Mellon experience.

First-year students are advised through the College of Engineering as part of the First-Year Experience, which starts the summer before students arrive on campus. Once students formally declare their major in Electrical and Computer Engineering they are assigned to faculty and staff academic advisors. These advisors can assist students with course selection, preparing for internships and on-campus research, as well as providing information on degree requirements and checking the progress of the degree. Advisors can be reached by the information provided below.

Office Hours for Current Pittsburgh B.S. and M.S. Students

Office hours are open to all currently enrolled students, regardless of their advisor. These open hours can be used for quick 10 minute meetings to review simple requests or concerns. Please see the Office Hours schedule below.

Day Time (EST) Location Advisor
Tuesday 1pm-3pm

In-person, come to HH 1113

Rotates
Wednesday 9am-11am

Zoom

Rotates

Please note that Office Hours will NOT be held during the weeks below during the '22-'23 Academic Year. Students should plan to meet only with their assigned advisor during these weeks. All university holidays will also be observed.

First two weeks of F22 term: August 29 - September 12
Fall break: October 17-21
Week before S23 registration: November 7-11
S23 registration week: November 14-18
(fall Office Hours will end with the last week of classes, to restart in the spring)

First two weeks of S23 term: January 17-30
Spring break: March 6-10
Week before F23 registration: April 10-14
F23 registration week: April 17-21
(spring Office Hours will end with the last week of classes, to restart in the fall)

Advising Leadership

megan-oliver-800x800.png

Megan V. Oliver
Director of Advising and Academic Services
Hamerschlag Hall 1113 B
412-268-5621
mvoliver@andrew.cmu.edu

Image of Tamal Mukherjee

Tamal Mukherjee
Associate Department Head for Students, Professor
Roberts Engineering Hall 332
412-268-8522
tamal@cmu.edu 

Faculty Advisors

greg-kesden-800x800.jpg

Greg Kesden
Associate Teaching Professor
Hamerschlag Hall A205
412-268-8647
gkesden@andrew.cmu.edu

Bill Nace

Bill Nace
Teaching Professor
Hamerschlag Hall D208
412-268-7027

wnace@cmu.edu

Dave O'Hallaron

Dave O'Hallaron
Professor
Gates Hillman Center 7517
412-268-8199
droh@andrew.cmu.edu

Asim Smailagin

Asim Smailagic
Research Professor
Hamburg Hall 1217
412-268-7863
asim@andrew.cmu.edu

tom-sullivan-800x800.jpg

Tom Sullivan
Teaching Professor
Hamerschlag Hall A209
412-268-3351
tms@ece.cmu.edu

Tom Zajdel

Tom Zajdel
Assistant Teaching Professor
Hamerschlag Hall A210
tzajdel@andrew.cmu.edu

Staff Advisors

brittany-reyes-800x800.png

Brittany Bristoll
Senior Academic Advisor, M.S. and Ph.D. programs
650-603-0934
bjreyes@andrew.cmu.edu
Advising all Silicon Valley M.S. and Ph.D. students

danielle-bonatesta

Danielle Bonatesta
Academic Advisor, M.S. & B.S. Programs
dbonates@andrew.cmu.edu

Headshot of Jeannette Daly

Jeannette Daly
Academic Advisor, M.S. & B.S. Programs
Hamerschlag Hall 1113 D
412-268-3200
jrdaly@cmu.edu

Monique Moreland headshot

Monique Moreland
Senior Academic Advisor, M.S. & B.S. Programs
Hamerschlag Hall 1113A
412-268-6507
moniquem@andrew.cmu.edu

placeholder image

Kaycee Palko
Academic Advisor, M.S. & B.S. Programs
kpalko@andrew.cmu.edu

holly-skovira-800x800.png

Holly Skovira
Senior Academic Advisor, M.S. & B.S. Programs
Hamerschlag Hall 1116 B
412-268-8162
hskovira@andrew.cmu.edu

nathan-snizaski-800x800.png

Nathan Snizaski
Senior Academic Advisor, Ph.D. Programs
Hamerschlag Hall 1113
412-268-3200
nsnizask@andrew.cmu.edu
Advising all Ph.D. students