Carnegie Mellon University

Academic Advisors

All ECE students are advised by both faculty and staff academic advisors who can provide support and guide them through their Carnegie Mellon experience.

First-year students are advised through the College of Engineering as part of the First-Year Experience, which starts the summer before students arrive on campus. Once students formally declare their major in Electrical and Computer Engineering they are assigned to faculty and staff academic advisors. These advisors can assist students with course selection, preparing for internships and on-campus research, as well as providing information on degree requirements and checking the progress of the degree. Advisors can be reached by the information provided below.

Office Hours for Current Pittsburgh B.S. and M.S. Students

Office hours are open to all currently enrolled students, regardless of their advisor. These open hours can be used for quick 10 minute meetings to review simple requests or concerns. Please see the Summer Office Hours schedule below.

Day Time (EST) Location Advisor
Tuesday 1-3 pm EST

In-person (HH1113)
or Zoom

Rotating

Advising Leadership

megan-oliver-800x800.png

Megan V. Oliver
Director of Advising and Academic Services
1113 Hamerschlag Hall
412-268-5621
mvoliver@andrew.cmu.edu

Image of Tamal Mukherjee

Tamal Mukherjee
Associate Department Head for Students, Professor
332 Roberts Engineering Hall
412-268-8522
tamal@cmu.edu 

Faculty Advisors

greg-kesden-800x800.jpg

Greg Kesden
Associate Teaching Professor
124 INI Building (Henry Street)
412-268-5943
gkesden@andrew.cmu.edu

Bill Nace

Bill Nace
Teaching Professor
D208 Hamerschlag Hall
412-268-7027

wnace@cmu.edu

Dave O'Hallaron

Dave O'Hallaron
Professor
Gates Hillman Center 7517
412-268-8199
droh@andrew.cmu.edu

Asim Smailagin

Asim Smailagic
Research Professor
1217 Hamburg Hall
412-268-7863
asim@andrew.cmu.edu

tom-sullivan-800x800.jpg

Tom Sullivan
Teaching Professor
A209 Hamerschlag Hall
412-268-3351
tms@ece.cmu.edu

Staff Advisors

brittany-reyes-800x800.png

Brittany Bristoll
Academic Advisor, M.S. and Ph.D. programs
650-603-0934
bjreyes@andrew.cmu.edu
Advising all Silicon Valley M.S. and Ph.D. students

Headshot of Jeannette Daly

Jeannette Daly
Academic Advisor, M.S. & B.S. Programs
Hamerschlag Hall 1116
jrdaly@cmu.edu

Arleyna Loss

Arleyna Loss
Academic Advisor, M.S. & B.S. Programs
Hamerschlag Hall 1114
412-268-8301
arleyna@cmu.edu
B.S. advising last names G-L
M.S. advising last names T-Z

Monique Moreland headshot

Monique Moreland
Academic Advisor, M.S. & B.S. Programs
Hamerschlag Hall 1113A
412-268-6507
moniquem@andrew.cmu.edu
B.S. advising last names M-S
M.S. advising last names N-S

holly-skovira-800x800.png

Holly Skovira
Academic Advisor, M.S. & B.S. Programs
Hamerschlag Hall 1116
412-268-8162
hskovira@andrew.cmu.edu
B.S. advising last names T-Z
M.S. advising last names H-M

nathan-snizaski-800x800.png

Nathan Snizaski
Senior Academic Advisor, Ph.D. Programs
Hamerschlag Hall 1113
412-268-3200
nsnizask@andrew.cmu.edu
Advising all Ph.D. students