Carnegie Mellon University

Hamerschlag Hall

December 07, 2021

Pileggi Named to the National Academy of Inventors

The National Academy of Inventors has elected Larry Pileggi from Carnegie Mellon University to its 2021 cohort of fellows.

The NAI Fellows Program was established to highlight academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society. Election to NAI Fellow status is the highest professional distinction accorded solely to academic inventors.

Larry Pileggi is the Tanoto Professor and the Department Head of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University. His research interests include all aspects of modeling, design, and design methodologies for integrated systems, and modeling, simulation, and optimization of electrical power systems.

Pileggi received his Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University in 1989. He has consulted for various semiconductor and EDA companies, and he was a co-founder of Fabbrix, Extreme DA, and Pearl Street Technologies. Pileggi has previously held positions at Westinghouse Research and Development and the University of Texas at Austin.

An accomplished researcher, he has received the following awards; including Westinghouse corporation’s highest engineering achievement award, a Presidential Young Investigator award from the National Science Foundation, Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) Technical Excellence Awards in 1991 and 1999, the FCRP inaugural Richard A. Newton GSRC Industrial Impact Award, the SRC Aristotle award in 2008, the 2010 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Mac Van Valkenburg Award, the ACM/IEEE A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in Electronic Design Automation in 2011, the Carnegie Institute of Technology B.R. Teare Teaching Award for 2013, and the 2015 Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA) University Researcher Award. He is a co-author of “Electronic Circuit and System Simulation Methods,” McGraw-Hill, 1995 and “IC Interconnect Analysis,” Kluwer, 2002. He has published over 400 conference and journal papers and holds 40 U.S. patents. He is a fellow of IEEE.