Carnegie Mellon University

O. Burak Ozdoganlar

O. Burak Ozdoganlar

Affiliated Faculty, DSSC
Ver Planck Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Address 5000 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213


Dr. Burak Ozdoganlar is the Ver Planck Endowed Professor of Mechanical Engineering and the Associate Director of the Engineering Research Accelerator at Carnegie Mellon University. He also holds faculty positions in Biomedical Engineering and Materials Science & Engineering at CMU. He previously served as the Director of ICES (Institute for Complex Engineered Systems). Before joining CMU in 2004, he has had positions with the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as a postdoctoral research associated, and with the Sandia National Laboratories as a Senior Member of Technical Staff. His primary research interests include modeling and experimentation of manufacturing processes and systems, specializing in multi-scale (macro/micro/nano-) manufacturing and its applications (including medical and bio-medical device fabrication); precision engineering; modeling and experimental approaches in structural dynamics; and modal testing and analysis.

He has co-authored more than 55 archival journal articles, and more than 75 conference articles. He is currently an associate technical editor for ASME J. Manufacturing Science and Engineering. Previously, he served as an associate editor for Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) J. Manufacturing Processes. Since 2008, he has been a member of the Scientific Committee of North American Manufacturing Research Institution of SEM.

Ozdoganlar has also been active in professional societies: he is a founder and past-president (2011-2012) of International Institution of Micro Manufacturing (I2M2), and he is a former chair of the ASME-MED manufacturing equipment technical committee. He is a member of the Phi Kappa Phi and Sigma Xi honor societies, SME/NAMRI, ASME, and ASEE. His recent awards and recognitions include 2011 ASME Blackall Machine Tool and Gage Award; SME 2007 Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer award; 2006 NSF/CAREER award; 2008 NAMRI/SME Outstanding Paper award; and Russell V. Trader Career Faculty Fellowship at CMU (2009-2011).