18-734 / 08-604: Foundations of Privacy

Schedule (subject to change)

Classes start on August 28, 2017

Date

Topics

Readings

Notes

Mon, Aug 28

Course Overview
Central Questions:

  • What is privacy?
  • How can we protect privacy?

Slides
Video

Wed, Aug 30

Conceptual Framework for understanding Privacy

Slides

Fri, Sep 1

Recitation on Logic

Slides

Mon, Sep 4

Labor Day Holiday; No lecture.

Privacy through Accountability: Formalization and Detection

Wed, Sep 6

Specifying Privacy Policies: Contextual Integrity and Logics of Privacy
Case study: HIPAA Privacy Rule

Slides

Fri, Sep 8

Recitation on the Reduce tool

Slides

Mon, Sep 11

Privacy Policy Enforcement through Audit Case study: HIPAA Privacy Rule

  • Policy Auditing over Incomplete Logs: Theory, Implementation and Applications. [PDF] [TechReport
  • ]

HW1 out


Slides

Wed, Sep 13

Purpose Restrictions in Privacy Policies: Semantics and Audit

Slides

Fri, Sep 15

Course Project guidelines
Markov Decision Processes

Slides

Mon, Sep 18

Privacy Compliance in Big Data Systems

Slides

Wed, Sep 20

Introduction to Machine Learning

HW1 in

Slides

Fri, Sep 22

Probability Theory Review

Slides

Mon, Sep 25

Project Proposals

HW2 out

Wed, Sep 27

Detecting Data Use on the Web:

Information Flow Experiments

Slides

Fri, Sep 29

Recitation on AdFisher
HW1 discussion

Slides

Mon, Oct 2

Privacy against Statistical Inference

Wed, Oct 4

GDPR

GDPR

HW2 in
HW3 out


Slides

Fri, Oct 6

Recitation on distance metrics, in prepration for the differential privacy lecture.

Slides

Mon, Oct 9

Online Tracking, guest lecture by Nataliia Bielova

Slides

Wed, Oct 11

Guest lecture by Christo Wilson

 

Slides
Uber slides

Protecting Privacy and Fairness in Big Data Analytics

Fri, Oct 13

HW 2 Discussion
Laplace Mechanism

Mon, Oct 16

Database Privacy: k-anonymity and de-anonymization attacks

 

Slides

Wed, Oct 18

Database Privacy: Differential Privacy

Slides

Fri, Oct 20

Mid semester break; No recitation.

Mon, Oct 23

Database Privacy: Differential Privacy Applied

HW4 out
Slides

Wed, Oct 25

Group and Individual Fairness in classification

·        Certifying and Eliminating Disparate Impact


Fairness through Awareness
Slides

Fri, Oct 27

HW3 Discussion
Recitation topic TBD

HW3 in

Mon, Oct 30

Algorithmic Transparency with Quantitative Input Influence

Slides

Wed, Nov 1

Project Deliverables I due: Course Project Update

Fri, Nov 3

Recitation topic TBD

 

 

Mon, Nov 6

Use privacy and proxy discrimination by Piotr Mardziel

 Slides

Wed, Nov 8

Guest lecture: Alexandra Chouldechova

 

Fair prediction with disparate impact

  Fair prediction with disparate impact: A study of bias in recidivism prediction instruments

 

Fri, Nov 10

No classes

 

 

Cryptographic Mechanisms for Privacy Protection
Applications

Mon, Nov 13

Anonymous Communication Protocols

HW4 in
Slides

Wed, Nov 15

Zero Knowledge: Theory

HW5 out
Slides

Fri, Nov 17

HW4 discussion
Zero Knowledge Review

Mon, Nov 20

Zero Knowledge: Applications
Anonymous credentials

Slides

Wed, Nov 22

Thanksgiving Holiday; No lecture.

 

 

Fri, Nov 24

Thanksgiving Holiday; No recitation.

 

 

Mon, Nov 27

Bitcoin, contracts

Wed, Nov 29

Zerocoin

Fri, Dec 1

Recitation: Project Q&A

 

 HW5 in

Mon, Dec 4

Project Presentations in class

Project Deliverables II due
Written report due

Wed, Dec 6

Project Presentations in class
+ Course Review

Fri, Dec 8

Recitation: HW5 discussion