Congratulation 2014 ECE award winners!


May 23, 2014

The Everard M. Williams Award -- Paraj Tyle

This award recognizes a senior of outstanding character and superior scholastic achievement.

Paraj Tyle has served as a teaching assistant and Build 18 Executive Committee member, all the while maintaining a 4.0 QPA. Professor Onur Mutlu says, "Paraj has a very amicable, humble personality. He is mature beyond his age, takes responsibility and ownership, and sets the bar high for himself."

Everard (Rod) Williams was the head of the ECE Department from 1952 to 1969. He was a prolific and innovative engineer and a pioneer in the use of computers in education. He was also a dynamic leader and a generous person who spent his spare time reclaiming and renovating derelict housing for the poor and homeless in Pittsburgh.


The Frank J. Marshall Scholar Award -- Dale McConachie

The Frank J. Marshall Scholar Award is given to an ECE senior or graduate student in recognition of outstanding scholastic and research achievement.

Dale has served as a teaching assistant and EXCEL group leader while also maintaining a 4.0 QPA. He was chosen to participate in CIT Honors research and has been completing a year-long project with Professor Howie Choset. Howie says of Dale, "Dale is a special student who is an inquisitive and mature thinker. He combines deep thinking with practical engineering skills which will undoubtedly make him an invaluable member of any research and development team."


The Frank J. Marshall Outstanding Undergraduate Award -- Niharika Singh

The Frank J. Marshall Outstanding Undergraduate Award is given to a senior or junior who has demonstrated a balance of academics, leadership and service to the community.

Niha has maintained an exemplary academic record, but her contributions outside the classroom have been astounding. She is active in the Women In ECE and ECE Outreach student organizations. ECE Outreach was designed to expose K-12 students to ECE and applications of math/science to get them interested in pursuing a career in engineering, math, or science. Professor Tom Sullivan says of her contributions, "Without Niha's efforts to recruit members/volunteers, to create our partnership with the Leonard Gelfand Center, and to schedule events with the students we serve and make sure the lab experiments we have them do get created and taught, ECE Outreach would not be in existence. She's leaving the organization in good hands by finding her successors and having them work with her this year to get up to speed. She is truly deserving of this award."

The Frank J. Marshall Scholar Award and The Frank J. Marshall Outstanding Undergraduate Award were established through the generosity of alumnus Frank J. Marshall who received his Bachelor's degree from the then EE department in 1969. Since then, he has held many different positions at a variety of companies including Vice President of Engineering at Cisco Systems.

More recently, Mr. Marshall was a founding investor, board member and Chairman of the Noard of Directors for Netscreen Technologies, Inc., which was purchased by Juniper Networks. Currently, he is a private investor and consultant to a number of high technology companies, and is a member of the College of Engineering Silicon Valley Advisory Council.