ECE Faculty Earn CIT Awards


February 22, 2012

Four ECE Professors will take home honors when the College of Engineering hosts its Faculty Awards ceremony next month.

Assistant Professor Onur Mutlu will receive the George Tallman Ladd Research Award, which recognizes outstanding research, and professional accomplishments and potential. Mutlu's research group, SAFARI, is investigating novel and efficient hardware/software techniques to overcome fundamental performance, security, robustness, reliability and efficiency challenges in current and future computer systems.

Erik Ydstie, a professor of chemical engineering with a courtesy appointment in the ECE Department, earned the college's Philip L. Dowd Fellowship for educational contributions and to encourage the undertaking of an educational project such as textbook writing, educational technology development, laboratory experience improvement, educational software, or course and curriculum development. His research focuses primarily on projects related to adaptive control, process modeling, complex process networks and solar cells.

CIT's Benjamin Richard Teare Teaching Award will be presented to ECE Professor James Hoburg for excellence in engineering education. Hoburg, who has been on the ECE faculty since 1975, specializes in applied electromagnetics, applied electrostatics and electrohydrodynamics, discrete and continuum electromechanics, and magnetic shielding.

University Professor of ECE Mark Kryder will receive CIT's Distinguished Professor of Engineering Award for exceptional achievements that have enhanced the reputation of CIT. A member of the ECE faculty for more than 30 years, Kryder founded the Magnetics Technology Center (now the college's Data Storage Systems Center) and has been vital to countless developments in hard drive technology.

The CIT Faculty Awards will be presented at a ceremony on March 30. Click here for more on the award categories.

Four ECE faculty members will receive CIT Faculty Awards next month: (clockwise from top left) Onur Mutlu, Erik Ydstie, Mark Kryder, James Hoburg.

Related People:

James Hoburg

Mark Kryder

B. Ydstie

Onur Mutlu