ECE Faculty Win CIT Awards


March 31, 2011

Five ECE faculty members were recently honored for their academic and research achievements at the annual CIT Faculty Awards Reception.

Raj Rajkumar, the George Westinghouse Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, received the Steven J. Fenves Award for Systems Research "for his contributions to wireless sensor networks - particularly in lightweight real-time operating systems and time synchronous protocols for distributed network nodes." The award is made to one or more individuals within Carnegie Mellon who have made significant contributions to systems research in areas relevant to the Institute for Complex Engineered Systems (ICES).

Assistant Professor of ECE Bruno Sinopoli earned the college's George Tallman Ladd Research Award for his outstanding research contributions to the development of the theory for computing and control technologies in cyber-physical systems. The award honors a CIT faculty member for their outstanding research and professional accomplishments and potential.

CIT's Philip L. Dowd Award went to Biomedical Engineering (BME) and Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor Jelena Kovacevic to recognize her educational contributions. Specifically, Kovacevic was cited for "profound contributions to biomedical engineering through her leadership as chair of the BME Graduate Affairs Committee, her publication of highly influential textbooks, her efforts in developing new courses to enhance BME graduate programs and her success as an instructor."

ABB Professor of Engineering Jimmy Zhu earned CIT's Outstanding Research Award for seminal contributions to magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) technology. The award, which honors a faculty member or team whose research contributions have enhanced the reputation of CIT, recognizes Zhu's pioneering work on magnetization switching in MRAM and spin torque transfer MRAM.

ECE Professor Adrian Perrig received the Benjamin Richard Teare Teaching Award for his essential role in developing the curriculum in cybersecurity within CIT and Carnegie Mellon, and his role in disseminating cybersecurity knowledge to the broader community. The award is presented to a faculty member in CIT for excellence in engineering education.

For more on the CIT Faculty Awards, visit

Historic Hamerschlag Hall

ECE Professor Ragunathan (Raj) Rajkumar

Assistant Professor of ECE Bruno Sinopoli

Professor Jelena Kovacevic

ABB Professor of Engineering Jimmy Zhu is the 2011 recipient of the IEEE Magnetics Society Achievement Award.

Adrian Perrig

Related People:

Adrian Perrig

Ragunathan Rajkumar

Jimmy Zhu

Jelena Kovacevic

Bruno Sinopoli