Congratulations Class of 2010!


June 10, 2010

Get the flash player here:

More than 300 new engineers entered the world on Sunday, May 16, when the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department hosted its diploma ceremony following Carnegie Mellon's commencement exercises. During the ceremony, Department Head Ed Schlesinger and Associate Department Head James Hoe presented diplomas to 41 Ph.D. students, 137 master of science students and 151 bachelor of science students.

In his address to the graduates, Schlesinger urged them to go into the world to create solutions to tomorrow's problems.

"That is my challenge to you, our 2010 graduates: Don't go out looking to 'discover' solutions to the challenges and problems we face, no matter how large. Rather, use the tools you have learned and acquired here and that you will continue to develop to create those solutions ... indeed, to create what never existed before. And by so doing, have a lasting impact on our world to make it a better place."

In addition to the presentation of diplomas, the ceremony also featured numerous awards for outstanding students and faculty members. They included:

The Everard M. Williams Award, for a senior of outstanding character and superior scholastic achievement: Samarth Bhargava

The Frank J. Marshall Scholar Award, for outstanding scholastic and research achievement: Rebecca Asher

The Frank J. Marshall Outstanding Undergraduate Award, for a senior who demonstrated a balance of academics, leadership and service to the community: Yush Gupta

The David Tuma Undergraduate Laboratory Project Award, for a student or group of students that has undertaken the most outstanding research project: Justin Beaver, Dan Burrows, Max Salley and Mark Ma for their YinzCam project (nominated by Associate ECE Professor Priya Narasimhan)

Outstanding Student Teaching Assistant Award, Tom Cherry

The Angel G. Jordan Award, presented to the graduating ECE doctoral student who has combined outstanding Ph.D. thesis work with exceptional service to the ECE or Carnegie Mellon community: Siddharth Garg

The A.G. Milnes Award, for an ECE doctoral student whose Ph.D. work is judged to be of the highest quality and is likely to have a significant impact in his or her field: Bryan Parno

The Excellence in Teaching Award, presented each year to a member of the ECE faculty by Eta Kappa Nu, the electrical engineering honor society: Assistant Teaching Professor William Nace

ECE also honored the success and dedication of its departing undergraduates and fifth-year M.S. students at the annual Senior/IMB Graduation Celebration, held Wednesday, May 12, at the Renaissance Hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh. The event featured a corporate magician and dinner keynote address, "Hirable for Life," by ECE alum and career specialist Chuck Sobey. Following the address, Director of Alumni and Student Relations Susan Farrington presented ECE Spirit Awards to David Lewis, Yush Gupta and Jessica Liao. She also presented awards to key student volunteers and leaders in the department's student organizations: the Student Advisory Council, IEEE and Eta Kappa Nu.

Finally, 13 ECE graduates earned Senior Leadership Awards in scholarship and other categories from the university at a ceremony on May 14. The winners were Rebecca Asher, Sandeep Atluri, Samarth Bhargava, David Bromberg, Joshua Caputo, Christopher Guida, Pranay Jain, Chansaly Ritchi Ker, Lauren Krukar, Rajit Kumar, Benjamin Morse, Winston Wan and Thomas Whitmore.

Congratulations Class of 2010! Be sure to stay in touch with ECE by registering at