Three ECE Faculty Elected IEEE Fellows


December 3, 2009

The ECE Department congratulates our three newly elected IEEE Fellows, Class of 2010: B.V.K. Vijaya Kumar, Asim Smailagic and Peter Steenkiste.

B.V.K. Vijaya Kumar, Professor of ECE, is elected "for contributions to biometric recognition methods."

Asim Smailagic, Research Professor of ECE and ICES, is elected "for contributions to wearable, pervasive, and context aware computing"

Peter A. Steenkiste, Professor of CS and ECE, is elected "for contributions to optimization and monitoring techniques for distributed communication systems

IEEE Grade of Fellow is conferred by the Board of Directors upon a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest.

(From L to R): Professors Kumar, Smailagic, and Steenkiste