Four ECE Faculty Win College Awards


February 12, 2009

ECE faculty have won or shared three out of four of the College of Engineering awards just announced today by CIT Dean Pradeep Khosla:

Assistant professor David Ricketts is one of two winners of the George Tallman Ladd Research Award. He shares the Ladd Award with Mohammad Islam, assistant professor of Materials Science and Chemical Engineering. Islam also has a courtesy appointment in ECE.

The Ladd Award is made to a young faculty member within the Carnegie Institute of Technology in recognition of outstanding research and professional accomplishments and potential.

Professor Vijayakumar Bhagavatula and assistant research professor Marios Savvides are joint winners of the CIT Outstanding Research Award.

The Outstanding Research Award is made to a faculty member within the Carnegie Institute of Technology in recognition of an exceptional research contribution that has enhanced the reputation of CIT in a global or national context. This award is for a research accomplishment that has occurred during the candidate's time in CIT and has received significant praise from experts in the field.

Professor José Moura is the recipient of The Philip L. Dowd Fellowship Award.

The Dowd Fellowship is awarded to a faculty member in engineering to recognize educational contributions and to encourage the undertaking of an educational project such as textbook writing, educational technology development, laboratory experience improvement, educational software, or course and curriculum development.

From L to R: Professors Ricketts, Bhagavatula, Savvides and Moura

Related People:

Vijayakumar Bhagavatula

José Moura

Marios Savvides

David Ricketts

Mohammad Islam