ECE Faculty Win Accolades from IEEE and ACM


November 21, 2007

ECE faculty members Gary Fedder, Alex Hills, Roy Maxion, and Jimmy Zhu were elected as Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Fellows, while Donald Thomas became an Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Fellow and Greg Ganger and Raj Rajkumar were appointed Distinguished Engineers of the ACM. Rajkumar was also promoted to Senior Member of the IEEE.

According to the IEEE website, Fellows "shall have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society."

Gary Fedder was cited "for contributions to integrated microelectromechanical system processes and design methodologies." He is the Howard M. Wilkoff Professor of ECE and Robotics, Director of the Institute for Complex Engineered Systems (ICES), and Co-Director of the Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS) Laboratory.

Alex Hills, Distinguished Service Professor of EPP and Professor of ECE, was nominated "for leadership in the development of wireless technology and delivery of telecommunications services to rural and remote areas."

Roy Maxion, Principal Systems Scientist of CS and ECE, was noted "for contributions to real-time monitoring and analysis of computer systems for trend analysis, fault prediction, and anomaly detection."

Jimmy Zhu was elected "for contributions to micromagnetic simulation in the field of magnetic data storage." Zhu is the ABB Professor of ECE, a Professor of MSE and Physics, and the Director of the Data Storage Systems Center (DSSC).

Both IEEE and ACM Fellows are looked upon for guidance and leadership as the world of technology continues to evolve.

The ACM Fellows Program recognizes and honors outstanding members for their achievements in computer science and information technology and for their significant contributions to the mission of the ACM, reported their website.

ECE Professor Donald Thomas was appointed "for contributions to computer-aided design of integrated circuits and systems."

According to the ACM website, "the Distinguished Engineer, Scientist, or Member Grade recognizes those ACM members with at least 15 years of professional experience and five years of continuous professional membership who have achieved significant accomplishments or have made a significant impact on the computing field."

Greg Ganger was chosen "for development of tools and mechanisms that enable creation of more robust, higher performing, more easily managed file and storage systems." Ganger is a Professor of ECE and CS and Director of the Parallel Data Laboratory (PDL).

Raj Rajkumar was selected both as a Distinguished Engineer of the ACM and a Senior Member of the IEEE, a grade for which the IEEE requires the candidate to have at least 10 years of professional practice and have shown significant performance over at least five of those years. Rajkumar is a leading researcher in the theory and practice of real-time computing, having invented important classes of new algorithms, demonstrated their effectiveness by building and deploying implementations, and transferring the technology to commercial and aerospace companies. He is a Professor of ECE and CS, Co-Director of the General Motors-Carnegie Mellon Collaborative Research Lab (GM-CM CRL), and Director of the Real-Time and Multimedia Systems Laboratory.

Several ECE faculty won accolades from the IEEE and the ACM this year.

Headshot of Gary Fedder

Headshot of Alex Hills

Headshot of Roy Maxion

Headshot of Jimmy Zhu

Headshot of Donald Thomas

Headshot of Greg Ganger

Headshot of Ragunathan (Raj) Rajkumar

Related People:

Gary Fedder

Greg Ganger

Roy Maxion

Ragunathan Rajkumar

Donald Thomas

Jimmy Zhu

Alex Hills