Kanade to Receive Okawa Prize for Contributions Impacting Fields of Information, Telecommunications


October 23, 2007

Takeo Kanade, U.A. and Helen Whitaker Professor of Computer Science and Robotics and Professor of ECE, is the 2007 recipient of the Okawa Prize, which is sponsored by the Japan-based Okawa Foundation for Information and Telecommunications.

The prize pays tribute to and publicly recognizes people who have made outstanding international contributions to research, technological development and business in the information and telecommunications fields.

Kanade, a former director of the university's Robotics Institute and founding director of the National Science Foundation Quality of Life Technology Engineering Research Center, is being honored "for far-reaching and pioneering research achievements in computer vision, artificial intelligence, and robotics, and the outstanding and innovative teaching that has produced the next generation of leaders in these fields."

He will be honored at a Nov. 21 award ceremony in Tokyo where he'll receive a certificate, gold medal and a prize of 10 million yen (approximately $86,000 dollars). The Okawa Foundation for Information and Telecommunications is a 21-year-old non-profit organization established in 1986 to promote the growth and development of the information and telecommunications fields, through donations from the late Mr. Isao Okawa, founder of CSK Corp. and president and chairman of the Sega Corp.

Kanade is the second Carnegie Mellon faculty member to be honored with the Okawa Prize. Raj Reddy, the Mozah Bint Nasser University Professor of Computer Science and Robotics, received the prize in 2004.

"Receiving the Okawa Prize is a special honor to me," Kanade said. "Not only is it a major award in the area of information and telecommunications in Japan, it is also especially significant because my mentors -Professor Toshiyuki Sakai in Japan and Professor Raj Reddy in the United States - are both recipients of the same prize."

Source: Anne Watzman and Byron Spice, Carnegie Mellon News Service

Takeo Kanade is the 2007 recipient of the Okawa Prize.

Related People:

Takeo Kanade