ECE Honor Society Inducts New Class


October 9, 2006

On October 7, 28 ECE undergraduates were initiated into Eta Kappa Nu (HKN), the Electrical and Computer Engineering Honor Society at Carnegie Mellon. The society's officers led the ceremony, which was held on campus and followed by dinner. In attendance were ECE Department Head T.E. Schlesinger, who delivered congratulatory and concluding remarks, and Susan Farrington, HKN staff advisor and director of alumni/student relations.

This year's officers are Lauren Chikofsky, President; Sonali Kapoor, Vice President; Jonathan Bingham, Treasurer; Kush Jawahar, Secretary/Bridge Correspondent; Vinay Chaudhary, Webmaster/Tour Chair; and Mark Hairgrove, Mentoring Program Chair.

ECE majors in their junior year who are in the top quarter of their class and ECE majors with senior class standing who are in the top third of their class are eligible for membership in the society. HKN members organize a mentoring program, tours of the department, and Wednesday night socials in the ECE undergraduate lounge.

View photos of the HKN new member initiation ceremony.

New members of Eta Kappa Nu (HKN), the ECE Honor Society, gather for their initiation ceremony.

Related People:

Susan Farrington

Related Links:

Eta Kappa Nu (HKN), ECE Honor Society