ECE Students Awarded Scholarships & Fellowships


January 10, 2006

ECE is proud to announce that several of our undergraduate and graduate students have received awards. Wilson Tsao, a sophomore, and Jeremy Weagley, a junior, won the Boeing Leadership Scholarship. Boeing Leadership Scholarships are awarded to ECE sophomores or juniors with skill areas important to the aerospace industry who have the ability to promote the Boeing values of leadership, teamwork, quality and diversity. Students must demonstrate academic excellence and may be selected for a summer internship.

Lauren Chikofsky, a junior, and Ajay Panagariya, a senior earning his integrated M.S./B.S. degree, received Lockheed Martin Undergraduate Scholarships. Lauren's award was presented for her aeronautical focus. Lockheed Martin Undergraduate Scholarship recipients must demonstrate competencies in leadership, initiative, and communication, and may also be chosen for a summer internship, most likely in a defense-related, systems integration line of business.

Graduate student fellowships include the Ann and Martin McGuinn Graduate Fellowship awarded to Debin Gao (faculty co-advisors: Mike Reiter and Dawn Song); the Frank J. Marshall Graduate Fellowship awarded to Jung-Chun (Mike) Kao (faculty advisor: Radu Marculescu) and Ahren Studer (faculty advisor: Chenxi Wang); and the Benjamin Garver Lamme/Westinghouse Graduate Fellowship awarded to Mike Beattie (faculty advisor: Vijayakumar Bhagavatula), Ben Henty (faculty advisor: Dan Stancil), Jeff Nelson (faculty advisor: Shawn Blanton), and James Newsome (faculty advisor: Dawn Song). James was also selected for the Microsoft Research Fellowship.

Jung-Chun (Mike) Kao (left) and Ahren Studer won the Frank J. Marshall Graduate Fellowship.