Moura, Siewiorek, and Towe Elected AAAS Fellows


November 15, 2005

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has elected ECE faculty members José M.F. Moura, Daniel P. Siewiorek, and Elias Towe to the rank of fellow. Moura was honored for outstanding contributions to the science and engineering of statistical signal processing and its application to communications and bioimaging. Siewiorek's award was for contributions to wearable computers, multiprocessor design, reliable systems, and automated design synthesis. Towe was inducted for pioneering research in semiconductor laser development in the area of quantum structures and devices and for contributions to nanostructure optoelectronic technology.

Moura, Professor of ECE and Biomedical Engineering, and Towe, Professor of ECE, Grobstein Memorial Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, and Director, Center for Nano-Enabled Devices and Energy Technologies, were both selected in the association's Engineering section affiliation. Sewiorek, Buhl University Professor of ECE and Computer Science and Director of the Human Computer Interaction Institute, was appointed in the Information, Computing, and Communication category.

The new fellows will be presented with a certificate and a blue and gold rosette pin to symbolize their accomplishments at the Fellows Forum this February in St. Louis during the AAAS Annual Meeting. Their names will also be printed in the journal Science, which is published by the AAAS.

Other ECE affiliated AAAS fellows from past years include Angel Jordan, Emeritus Keithley University Professor of ECE and Robotics; Pradeep Khosla, College of Engineering Dean, Dowd Professor of ECE and Robotics, and Co-Director of the Carnegie Mellon CyLab; and Granger Morgan, Lord Professor and Department Head of Engineering and Public Policy and Professor of ECE and the Heinz School.

According to its website, the AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society. The international non-profit organization is "dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association."

Logo provided courtesy of the AAAS.

Headshot of JosÈ Moura

Headshot of Daniel Siewiorek

Headshot of Elias Towe

Related People:

José Moura

Daniel Siewiorek

Elias Towe

Related Groups: