ECE Graduates & Award Winners Honored at Diploma Ceremony


May 16, 2005

On May 15, ECE awarded 41 doctor of philosophy, 112 master of science, and 165 bachelor of science degrees. Of the graduates, 30 simultaneously completed both the MS and BS degrees and 16 completed both in 8 semesters. Among the BS candidates, 93 graduated with university honors (a Q.P.A. of 3.5 or better) and 32 with college honors, completing an intensive senior honors research project.

ECE Department Head Ed Schlesinger led the ceremony, which included the presentation of seven awards.

The name of each award, the criteria for winning and the recipients follow:

-E.M. Williams Award: To an ECE senior in recognition of superior scholastic achievement.
Recipient: Chris Pearson

-Frank J. Marshall Scholar Award: To an ECE senior in recognition of outstanding scholastic and research achievement. Recipient: Thammanit Pipatsrisawat

-Frank J. Marshall Outstanding Undergraduate Award: To a senior or junior who has demonstrated a balance of academics, leadership and service to the community. Recipient: Boris Sofman

-International Engineering Consortium William L. Everitt Student Award of Excellence: Honors outstanding senior students majoring in ECE or Computer Science. Recipients: Molly Meyer and Anup Doshi

-David Tuma Laboratory Project Award: To the student team creating the most outstanding undergraduate laboratory project.
Recipients: Jesse Vizcaino, Kermin Fleming, and Muhammed Wahabsuhaili

-Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award: To an ECE teaching assistant for extraordinary performance in our teaching program.
Recipient: Alex Bobrek

-Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) Award for Outstanding Faculty Teaching: To an ECE faculty member in recognition of teaching excellence.
Recipient: Andrzej Strojwas

Congratulations to all on your success!

Photography by Larry Rippel.

Related People:

T.E. Schlesinger

Andrzej Strojwas

Related Links:

Photo Gallery