Carnegie Mellon Wins Best Paper Award; Faculty Help Plan RTSS


November 5, 2004

A Carnegie Mellon research team won the Best Paper Award for their work, "Integrated Resource Management and Scheduling with Multi-Resource Constraints," which will be part the 2004 IEEE Real-Time Systems Symposium (RTSS), the flagship conference of the real-time systems community.

Co-authors of the paper are Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) graduate student Sourav Ghosh, ECE and CS Professor Ragunathan Rajkumar, Institute for Complex Engineered Systems (ICES) Research Scientist Jeff Hansen, and Humanities and Social Sciences and Thomas Lord Professor of Statistics Dean John Lehoczky. The document considers an integrated framework for quality of service (QoS) optimization and scheduling for dynamic real-time systems that have multiple resource constraints. 187 papers were submitted and 42 were accepted for the conference, which will be held in Lisbon, Portugal, from December 5-8.

A related manuscript by the same group, with Hansen as the first author, was awarded Best Paper at the 12th International Workshop on Parallel and Distributed Real-Time Systems (WPDRTS). Both of the honored pieces are detailed extensions of QoS research that began with the Amaranth project for probabilistically guaranteed QoS for distributed computing systems. Amaranth's proposal was led by Pradeep Khosla, CIT Dean; Philip and Marsha Dowd Professor of ECE and Robotics; Co-Director, CyLab.

Rajkumar is the General Chair of RTSS this year. Other program committee organizers and their tracks include Assistant Professor of ECE and CS Priya Narasimhan in real-time middleware and software engineering, ECE Professor Don Thomas in hardware/software co-design, and Assistant Professor of ECE, EPP, and CS Adrian Perrig, in real-time communication and sensor networks.

Tradeoffs occur in the quality of service when using different processors and bandwidth resources.

Related People:

Pradeep Khosla

Priya Narasimhan

Adrian Perrig

Ragunathan Rajkumar

Donald Thomas