ECE Diploma Ceremony Honors Graduates


May 16, 2004

On May 16, ECE awarded 35 doctor of philosophy, 130 master of science, and 132 bachelor of science degrees. Of the graduates, 25 simultaneously completed both the MS and BS degrees and 13 completed both in 8 semesters. Among the BS candidates, 56 graduated with university honors (Q.P.A. of 3.5 or better) and 33 with college honors, completing an intensive senior honors research project.

ECE Department Head Pradeep Khosla led the ceremony, which included the presentation of seven awards:

The name of each award, the criteria for winning and the recipients follow:

-E.M. Williams Award: To an ECE senior in recognition of superior scholastic achievement. Recipient: Adam Zelinski

-Frank J. Marshall Scholar Award: To an ECE senior or graduate student in recognition of outstanding scholastic and research achievement. Recipient: Jicai Chow

-Frank J. Marshall Outstanding Undergraduate Award: To a senior or junior who has demonstrated a balance of academics, leadership and service to the community. Recipient: Emily Lauffer

-David Tuma Laboratory Project Award: To the student team creating the most outstanding undergraduate laboratory project. Recipients: Bobby Colyer, Jeffrey Kuo, Myron Kwai, and Shirlene Lim.

-Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Assistant Award: To an ECE graduate student for extraordinary performance in our teaching program. Recipients: Bob Grabowski, Luis Navarro-Serment, and Kim Yaw Tong

-Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) Award for Outstanding Faculty Teaching: To an ECE faculty member in recognition of teaching excellence. Recipient: James Hoburg

-International Engineering Consortium Award: To outstanding senior students majoring in ECE or Computer Science. Recipients: Thiago Hersan and Prem Ramaswami

Congratulations to all on your success!

Photography by Larry Rippel.

Related People:

James Hoburg

Pradeep Khosla

Related Links:

Photo Gallery