ECE Students Win NSF Honors


April 21, 2003

The winners of this years NSF Graduate Research Fellowships include ECE students Jennifer Morris and Brandon Salmon; ECE students Ryan Kerekes, Tom Lauwers, and Thomas Wenisch all earned Honorary Mention. The NSFs Graduate Research Fellowship funds three years of graduate study, including a $27,500 stipend for the first 12-months and an annual tuition allowance of $10,500, paid to the University. This years contest was the most competitive in recent history: 7,788 applicants vied for 900 fellowships. In the Engineering category, 284 winners were selected from a pool of 1974.

NSF Fellows are expected to contribute significantly to research, teaching, and industrial applications in science, mathematics, and engineering.