C3S Develops New Award to Recognize Journalism Excellence in Cybersecurity Reporting


April 14, 2003

The Center for Computer and Communications Security (C3S) has created a new Cybersecurity Journalism Award to recognize outstanding reporting and writing in the print and broadcast mediums. Two awards, valued at $2,500 each, in print and broadcast will be presented Oct. 27, 2003, at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., to the writers, editors and producers who have done the most to educate the public by giving readers and viewers a better understanding of America's ongoing war against terrorism.

A panel of judges will be chaired by Pradeep Khosla, Director, Center for Computer and Communications Security; Head, ECE and INI; Philip and Marsha Dowd Professor, College of Engineering and School of Computer Science, and Susan Bennett, veteran journalist and director of international exhibits at the Newseum in Arlington, Va. They will work with four distinguished journalists to select the 2003 Cybersecurity Journalism Award winners.

The judges include David Ensor, a national security correspondent with CNN; Marilyn Thompson, assistant managing editor of investigative reporting at The Washington Post; Carol Giacomo, diplomatic correspondent for Reuters; and Mark Thompson, national security correspondent for Time Magazine. All entries must have been published or broadcast after Sept. 1, 2001 and must include a nomination letter outlining the name of the submission and a collection of stories or broadcasts presented in normal notebook style.


Related Groups: