ECE Graduates Honored in Diploma Ceremony


May 19, 2002

"The educational experience that is being culminated today is more than a sequence of courses. It is the establishment of an identity with the engineering profession, and with Carnegie Mellon and ECE in particular, as your professional foundation."

-Pradeep Khosla, ECE Department Head and Philip and Marsha Dowd Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Robotics

On May 19, 2002 the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering awarded:

25 Doctor of Philosophy degrees; and 90 Master of Science degrees.

* 22 simultaneously completed both the MS and BS degrees; and
* 14 completed both degrees in 8 semesters.

143 Bachelor of Science degrees:

* 55 graduated with University honors (Q.P.A. of 3.5 or better); and
* 29 graduated with College honors (completed an intensive Senior Honors Research project).

The program included the presentation of seven awards:

The name of each award, criteria for winning, and recipients follow:

Award Name: E.M. Williams Award Criteria: To an ECE senior in recognition of superior scholastic achievement. Recipient: James G. Casazza

Award Name: David Tuma Laboratory Project Award Criteria: To the student team creating the most outstanding undergraduate laboratory project. Recipients: Thomas Klasen and Naseer Siddique

Award Name: Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Assistant Award Criteria: To an ECE graduate student for extraordinary performance in our teaching program. Recipients: Kevin Perry, John Ramsey, Charles Shelton, and Alan Wagstaff

Award Name: Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) Award for Outstanding Faculty Teaching Criteria: To an ECE faculty member in recognition of teaching excellence. Recipient: Rob Rutenbar, Jatras Professor of ECE and CS; Director, Center for Circuits, Systems and Software

Award Name: ETA Kappa Nu Outstanding Chapter Activities Award Certificate of Merit

Criteria: To a chapter in the National ETA Kappa Nu Electrical Engineering Honor Society for the activities they organized during the last academic year. Recipient: ETA Kappa Nu Sigma Chapter, Carnegie Mellon

Award Name: William L. Everitt Student Excellence Award Criteria: To outstanding students with an interest in the area of communications or computer engineering. Recipients: Diane Budzik and James Grace

Award Name: Sargent Electric Patterson Prize Criteria: To students about to enter their senior year who have exemplified the qualities or scholarship, leadership and dedication to their department. Recipients: Michael H. Kaye and Vyacheslav V. Rovner

Congratulations to all on a job well done!