18-649 Distributed Embedded Systems

Fall 2014
Carnegie Mellon University, ECE Department

Prof. Philip Koopman

Lectures: MW 12:30-2:20; DH 1212
Recitation: Friday 1:30-1:50; DH 1212, plus team meetings 12:30-2:20

Fall 2014 NEWS:


Required text: Koopman, Better Embedded System Software, ISBN-13: 978-0-9844490-0-2. USE THIS LINK FOR SPECIAL STUDENT PRICE. (Link to Book Blog).

Note: materials and assignments are draft until gray box background is removed.
Meeting Date Lecture Required Reading
.pdf links are CMU-only access; use the "Digging deeper" links to see citations.
Project Milestones
(Projects Due Evenings at 10:00 PM)
Mon. 25-Aug-2014 1. Course Overview & Introduction Text Chapters 2, 3
Digging deeper
Required Reading (.pdf)
 
Wed. 27-Aug-2014 2. Elevators as a distributed embedded application Required Reading: (.pdf); Text Chapter 5
Digging Deeper
 
Fri. 29-Aug-14 3. Requirements and Methodical Engineering
Recitation 1
(Class & recitation 12:30-2:20)
Text Chapters 6, 8, 9
Digging Deeper
Project Lessons Learned (cmu.edu only)
 
Mon 1-Sep-14 Mon. 1-Sep-2014; Labor Day; no class    
Wed. 3-Sep-14 4. UML-Based Design Process Required Reading (.pdf)
Text Chapter 12
Digging Deeper
Wed 3-Sep: Team requests due via e-mail by 5 PM
Due Thu 4-Sep
Proj. 1
(requirements; simulator)
Fri. 5-Sep-14 Recitation 2
Recitation 1:30-2:00
Assigned team meeting slots12:30-1:30; 2-2:20
   
Mon. 8-Sep-14 5. End-to-end design example Text Chapters 7, 13
Digging Deeper
 
Wed. 10-Sep-14 6. Lecture: Boeing 777 Validation Testing (in-class video) Required Reading (.pdf*)
Digging Deeper
Due Fri 12-Sep
Proj. 2
(scenarios; sequence diagrams)
Fri. 12-Sep-14 Recitation 3    
Mon. 15-Sep-14 7. Distributed + Embedded Systems Required Reading (.pdf)
Text Chapters 10, 11
Digging Deeper
 
Wed. 17-Sep-14 8. Reviews & Software Process
Guest: Emily Hart, AgaMatrix
Text Chapters 17, 22
Digging Deeper
Review checklist
Thu 18-Sep
Proj. 3
(event-triggered behavioral requirements)
Fri. 19-Sep-14 Recitation 4    
Mon. 22-Sep-14 9. Embedded Software Testing Required Reading (.pdf); Text Chapter 23, 24
Digging Deeper
 
Wed. 24-Sep-14 10. Embedded System Engineering Economics  Required Reading (local)
Text Chapter 16, 18
Suggested: .html
Digging Deeper
Thu 25-Sep
Proj. 4
(time-triggered design)
Fri. 26-Sep-14 Recitation 5    
Mon. 29-Sep-14 11. Verification, Validation & Certification Text Chapters 21, 25
Digging Deeper
 
Wed. 1-Oct-14 Test #1
(Lectures 1-11)

See example test on Blackboard Documents Thu 2-Oct
Proj. 5
(implementation & start tests)No-penalty extension to Friday at 10 PM due to exam week.
Fri. 3-Oct-14 Recitation 6    
Mon. 6-Oct-14 12. Embedded Communication Protocols Required Reading (.html*)
Digging Deeper
 
Wed. 8-Oct-14 13. CAN Protocol Required Reading (.pdf*)
Digging Deeper
Thu 9-Oct
Proj. 6
(implement & test)
Fri. 10-Oct-14 Recitation 7    
Mon. 13-Oct-14 14. CAN Performance Required Reading (.pdf*)
Digging Deeper

Strongly Suggested Reading:
ISR Handouts (in class only)
Text Chapter 14
 
Wed. 15-Oct-14 15. End-To-End System Scheduling Required Reading (.pdf)
Text Chapter 14
Suggested RMA reading: Obenza if you are weak on RMA
Digging Deeper
Thu 16-Oct
Proj. 7
(Basic run time monitor; Basic acceptance tests; Mid-Semester Project Hand-in; Worth 10 points of course grade!)
Fri. 17-Oct-14 Mid-Semester Break
No recitation; no TA meetings; no office hours
Recitation 8 Slides  
Mon. 20-Oct-14 16. Humans as a System Component Required Reading: Text Chapter 15
Digging Deeper
 
Wed. 22-Oct-14 17. TBD Thu 23-Oct
Proj. 8
(smart dispatcher and fast speed reqts.)
Fri. 24-Oct-14 Recitation 9 Presentation slides due! Presentation slides due via e-mail Saturday 25-Oct-14 at 5 PM; Presentation Slide Format:
(.ppt | .pdf )
Mon. 27-Oct-14 In-class presentations: Groups 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6    
Wed. 29-Oct-14 In-class presentations: Groups 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12   Thu 30-Oct
Proj. 9
(smart dispatcher design)
Fri. 31-Oct-14 In-class presentations: Groups 13, 14, 15, 16
approx 2:00: Recitation 10
   
Mon. 3-Nov-14 18. Dependability/Reliability Required Reading: Text Chapter 26
Digging Deeper
 
Wed. 5-Nov-14 19. Critical Systems & Software Safety Required Reading (.pdf*)
Text Chapter 28
Digging Deeper
Thu 6-Nov
Proj. 10
(network schedule; testing)
Fri. 7-Nov-14 Recitation 11    
Mon. 10-Nov-14 20. Critical Systems Engineering Required Reading: Text Chapters 29, 30
Digging Deeper
 
Wed. 12-Nov-14 21. Distributed Timekeeping Required Reading (.pdf*)
Digging Deeper
Thu 13-Nov
Proj. 11
(run time monitoring)
Fri. 14-Nov-14 Recitation 12    
Mon. 17-Nov-14 22. Embedded Internet & Embedded Security Required Reading: Text Chapter 27
Digging Deeper
 
Wed. 19-Nov-14 Test #2
(covers lectures 12-22)
See example test on Blackboard Documents Note: Project 12 due Monday 24 Nov., but you are welcome to turn it in early!
Fri. 21-Nov-14 Recitation 13   Final presentation slides due Sunday 30-Nov-14 at 5 PM
Presentation format: (.ppt | .pdf)
Mon. 24-Nov-14 23. FlexRay Protocol
24. Ethics & Societal Impact
23. Required Reading (.pdf*)
Digging Deeper
24. Required Reading (.pdf)
Digging Deeper
Monday 24-Nov
Proj. 12
(faster drive)
Thanksgiving Break Wed 26-Nov-14 -- Fri 28-Nov-14; no recitation 13; no office hours    
Mon. 1-Dec-14 In-class presentations: Groups 16, 15, 14, 13, 12, 11    
Wed. 3-Dec-14 In-class presentations: Groups 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5    
Fri. 5-Dec-14
In-class presentations: Groups 4, 3, 2, 1;
(1:15 PM Start)
   
Tue. 9-Dec-14 (No class meetings this week)   Tue 9-Dec
Proj. 13
(final testing)
Worth 10 points of course grade!
Wed. 10-Dec-14 (No class meetings this week)
All groups demo with a TA; times to be arranged. It is OK to demo before this date with prior TA arrangement.
   
Notes: