CALCM Seminars

The CALCM seminar series is a weekly meeting of faculty and students with broad interests in Computer Architecture, and is open to all. The seminar is an excellent medium for CALCM students/faculty to present their recent research results and/or practice conference presentations, for students to polish their presentation skills and present external results from recent conferences, and for outside speakers to tell us about their work.

A mailing list keeps members informed of seminars and events related to CALCM. Subscribe here. Anyone with a or address can subscribe.

When / Where?

Usually every Tuesday 4:30-5:30 PM in CIC Panther Hollow, unless otherwise noted.

If you are interested in giving a CALCM talk or have general questions, please contact the seminar organizer: Yu Wang (

Spring 2016 Seminar Schedule

Date Title Speaker Location & Time Material
February 16th Architectural Specialization for Inter-Iteration Loop Dependence Patterns Christopher Batten (Cornell) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM
March 1st Stateless model checking with data-race preemption points Ben Blum (CS, CMU) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM
March 22nd An Energy-interference-free Hardware-Software Debugger for Intermittent Energy-harvesting Systems Alexei Colin (ECE, CMU) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM
April 26th Automating Performance via Data Layout Transformations and Kernel Code Generation Richard Veras (ECE, CMU) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM
May 10th Improving the performance of the FFT algorithm on shared-memory systems Doru Thom Popovici (ECE, CMU) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM


Past CALCM Seminars

See a listing of Past Semester Seminars

CALCM Best Student Presentation Award

CALCM Seminar Czars

  • Yu Wang; S16; Hoe
  • Richard Veras; F15; Franchetti
  • Vivek Seshadri; S15; Mowry
  • Berkin Akin; F14; Franchetti/Hoe
  • Kevin Chang and Rachata Ausavarungnirun; S14; Mutlu
  • Gabe Weisz; F13; Hoe
  • Gennady Pekhimenko; S13; Mowry
  • Da-Cheng Juan; F12; Marculescu
  • HanBin Yoon and Hongyi Xin; S12; Mutlu
  • Michael Papamichael; F11; Hoe
  • Weinan Ma; S11; Mai
  • Evangelos Vlachos; F10; Mowry
  • Sidarth Garg; S10; Marculescu
  • Yoongu Kim; F09; Mutlu
  • Eric Chung; S09; Hoe
  • Eric Menedez; F08; Mai
  • Theo Strigkos; S08; Mowry
  • Jangwoo Kim; F07; Falsafi
  • Sebastian Herbert; S07; Marculescu
  • Mike Ferdman; F06; Falsafi
  • Nikos Hardavellas; S06; Falsafi
  • Eriko Nurvitadhi; F05; Hoe
  • Jared Smolens; S05; Hoe
  • Brian Gold; F04; Falsafi
  • Thomas Wenisch; S04; Falsafi
  • Girish Venkataramani; F03; Goldstein
  • Philip Stanley; S03; Marculescu
  • Roland Wunderlich; F02; Hoe
  • Se-Hyun Yang; S02; Falsafi
  • Cycle: Hoe;Mutlu;Marculescu;Lucia;Mowry;Mai;Franchetti;