CALCM Seminars

The CALCM seminar series is a weekly meeting of faculty and students with broad interests in Computer Architecture, and is open to all. The seminar is an excellent medium for CALCM students/faculty to present their recent research results and/or practice conference presentations, for students to polish their presentation skills and present external results from recent conferences, and for outside speakers to tell us about their work.

A mailing list keeps members informed of seminars and events related to CALCM. Subscribe here. Anyone with a or address can subscribe.

When / Where?

Usually every Wednesday 4:30-5:30 PM in CIC Panther Hollow, unless otherwise noted.

If you are interested in giving a CALCM talk or have general questions, please contact the seminar organizer: Yixin Luo (

Spring 2017 Seminar Schedule

Date Title Speaker Location & Time Note
January 26 Internet of Things: History and Hype, Technology and Policy Margaret Martonosi (Princeton) Scaife 125, 4:30PM-5:30PM Thursday ECE Seminar
February 15 Rethinking System Support for Memory Consistency and Coherence Michael D. Bond (OSU) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM
March 1 Cloud-Based Architecture Yanqi Zhou (Princeton) HH 1107, 4:30PM-5:30PM ECE Faculty Candidate Seminar
March 8 Improving the Reliability of Chip-Off Forensic Analysis of NAND Flash Memory Devices Aya Fukami (CMU-Mutlu) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM
March 22 Tailoring Systems for Big Data and Small Technologies Djordje Jevdjic (EPFL) HH 1107, 4:30PM-5:30PM ECE Faculty Candidate Seminar
March 24 Selectively Consistent Approximate Parallel Execution Vignesh Balaji (CMU-Lucia) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM Moved to Friday due to a conflict
March 27 FPGA Acceleration for Convolutional Neural Networks Peter Milder (Stony Brook) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM Special Monday Seminar
March 29 Power- and Performance-constrained Thread Mapping and DVFS Dimitrios Stamoulis (CMU-D. Marculescu) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM
April 5 Write HLS Code toward the Quality of Hand-written RTL Guanglin Xu (CMU-Franchetti) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM
April 12 Nanopore Sequencing Technology and Tools Damla Senol (CMU-Onur) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM
April 19 LazyPIM: Efficient Support for Cache Coherence in Processing-in-Memory Architectures Amirali Boroumand (CMU-Onur) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:30PM-5:30PM
May 2 Constructing a Processor for Exascale Computing Gabriel H. Loh (AMD Research) CIC Panther Hollow, 1:00PM-2:00PM Special Tuesday Seminar
May 5 Wireless Reconfiguration of Transiently-Powered Radios Przemek Pawelczak (TU Delft) CIC Panther Hollow, 4:00PM-5:00PM Special Friday Seminar
May 12 Network-driven Context-Aware Datacenter Server Management Nam Sung Kim (UIUC) CIC Panther Hollow, 11:00AM-Noon Special Friday Seminar


Past CALCM Seminars

See a listing of Past Semester Seminars